Connecticut Legislature Repeals Worker Safety Benefit Effective January 1, 2020

Posted by James Aspell | Dec 26, 2019 | 0 Comments

We represent many workers who rely on personal protective gear to keep them safe at work:  Roofers, airport ramp workers, masons, steeplejacks, lab workers, and many many others need this clothing and equipment to keep them safe at work.  For years, Connecticut acknowledged the importance of worker safety and allowed workers to purchase this gear tax free.  That has all changed.  The Connecticut General Assembly, and Governor Ned Lamont (D) have repealed the tax protections for worker safety gear and as of January 1, 2020, workers will see a  6% increase in the cost of this necessary protective equipment.

If you need personal protective gear or safety apparel to do your job, you have less than a week before a hefty price increase goes into effect.   The full text of this law is below:

"The Exemption for Safety Apparel Is Repealed  on Sales of safety apparel, defined as “any item of clothing or protective equipment worn by an employee for protection during the course of the employee's employment,” and further described in Policy Statement 2004(4), Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Safety Apparel, will become subject to sales and use taxes for sales occurring on or after January 1, 2020. Effective January 1, 2020. 2019 Conn. Pub. Acts 117, § 400, repealing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(91)." 

About the Author

James Aspell

Principal since August 1, 2006 James F. Aspell is the principal and managing attorney of the firm which he started in 2006 following 20 years of litigation practice in a mid -size firm in Hartford, Connecticut. Jim focuses his practice in the areas of worker's compensation and personal injury l...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Learn Your Legal Rights After An Injury

If you or someone you love was injured or killed on the job, our experienced personal injury professionals can help ensure your bills are paid. We will also fight to make sure you receive proper medical treatment and permanent disability benefits when needed.

To get knowledgeable advice during a free initial consultation from an experienced Connecticut personal injury attorney, please send us an email or call us any time 860-523-8783. Office hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Off-site, evening or weekend appointments are available upon request. Phones are answered 24 hours a day.

Awards

Menu